Programme Committee

EuroAsiaSPI² has updated its board structure starting from 2017 onwards. To address the scientific recognition by SPRINGER (annual book series since 2003), and Wiley (journal series since 2004), and SQP/ASQ SW Quality Professional Publications (in 2015 and 2016), representatives from a set of leading universities and research networks have been established as a conference board. They also act as main editors for the various books and EU initiatives.

To address the involvement of leading industry we have extended the workshop community approach to give leadership to industry in special topics for which there are workshops around the conference. For instance, experts from Volkswagen, Continental, Robert BOSCH, SQS, Japanese Union of Engineers, etc. are leaders of workshop communities.

EuroAsiaSPI² is a conference series since 1994 and continues to develop the SPI community the next years.

EuroAsiaSPI² General Chairmen


General Chair & Workshop Chair
Richard Messnarz, ISCN, Austria

General Co-Chair
Micheal Mac an Airchinnigh, ISCN, Contact Point for Ireland

Conference Board

Rory O'Connor, Dublin City University, Ireland

Ricardo Colomo-Palacios, Ostfold University, Norway

Georg Macher, Graz University of Technology, Austria

Gabriele Sauberer, TermNet, Austria

Workshop Community Chairs

WS 1:
Gamification and Persuasive Games for Software Process Improvement, Information Technology, and Innovation Management

Rory O'Connor
Dublin City University, Ireland

Murat Yilmaz
Cankaya University, Turkey

WS 2:
SPI in Industry 4.0
The Digitalization of Design and Manufacturing

WS 3:
Best Practices in Implementing Traceability

Bernhard Sechser
Methodpark, Germany

Rainer Dreves
Continental, Germany

WS 4:
Good and Bad Practices in Improvement

Eva Breske
Bosch Engineering GmbH, Germany

Tomas Schweigert
SQS, Germany

WS 5:
Best Practices in Design of Systems applying Functional Safety, Cybersecurity, and how much Agile is Possible (with examples from Automotive Industry, Medical Device Industry)

Alexander Much Elektrobit/Continental, Germany

Jenny Gorner
KnowIt, Sweden

Richard Messnarz
ISCN, Austria

WS 6:
Experiences with Agile and Lean

Alexander Poth
VW Wolfsburg, Germany

Susumu Sasabe
JUSE, Japan

WS 7:
Standards and Assessment Models

Gerhard Griessnig
AVL, Austria

Klaudia Dussa-Zieger
imbus AG, Germany

Timo Varkoi
Fisma ry, Finland

WS 8:
Team Skills and Diversity Strategies
Empowering Innovation and Improvement

Gabriele Sauberer
TermNet, Austria

Mirna Munoz
University of Zacatecas, Mexico

WS 9:
Trends & Challenges in the Medical Device Industry

Armin Riess
BBraun, Germany

Fergal Mc Caffery
DKIT, Ireland

Marion Lepmets
SoftComply, Estonia

Alastair Walker
Lorit Consultancy, UK

WS 10:
Future Competencies, Innovations and Infrastructure for European Mobility (DRIVES)

Svatopluk Stolfa
VSB Ostrava, Czech Republic

Jakub Stolfa
VSB Ostrava, Czech Republic

Peter Dolejsi
ACEA, the European Automobile Manufacturers Association

Chairs Honoris causa

The following persons have helped to form EuroSPI more than 20 years ago and have an advisory role to the chair.

Jorn Johanson
whitebox, Denmark

Morton Korsaa
whitebox, Denmark

Risto Nevalainen
Fisma, Finland

In Memoriam

The following persons have made an outstanding contribution to EuroSPI and we will always remember them. Dr Kreiner helped founding the functional safety and cyberscurity community. Dr Dolgos was the founder of the SPI in medical device industry community at EuroSPI.

Dr Christian Kreiner, Graz University of Technology, Austria

Dr Sandor Dolgos, BBraun Avitum R&D Machines, Location Budapest, Hungary

Organising Chairs

Organising Chair
Richard Messnarz, ISCN, Austria

Organising Local Chair 2018
Xabier Larrucea, Tecnalia, Spain



EuroAsiaSPI² 2018 Programme Committee Members

EuroSPI² 2018 Scientific Programme Committee

Biro Miklos John von Neumann Computer Society HUNGARY
Calvo-Manzano Jose A. Politechnic University of Madrid (UPM) SPAIN
Clarke Paul Dublin City University IRELAND
Colomo Palacios Ricardo Ostfold University College NORWAY
Dalcher Darren Hertfordshire Business School UK
Draghici Anca Politechnic University of Timisoara ROMANIA
Georgiadou Elli - UK
Kreiner Christian University of Technology Graz AUSTRIA
Kuvaja Pasi University of Oulu FINLAND
Landes Dieter University of Coburg GERMANY
Mäkinen Timo Tampere University of Technology FINLAND
Marcin Wolski University of Poznan Poland
Martins Paula University of the Algarve PORTUGAL
Mas Antonia University of the Balearic Islands, UIB SPAIN
Mc Caffery Fergal Dundalk Institute of Technology IRELAND
Mesquida Calafat Antoni Lluís University of the Balearic Islands, UIB SPAIN
Munoz Mirna CIMAT- Unidad Zacatecas MEXICO
O Connor Rory Dublin City University IRELAND
Papatheocharous Efi Research Institutes of Sweden RISE ICT/SICS SWEDEN
Phalp Keith Bournemouth University UK
Reiner Michael University of Applied Sciences Krems AUSTRIA
Riel Andreas Grenoble INP FRANCE
Rodic Miran University of Maribor SLOVENIA
San Feliu Tomas Politechnic University of Madrid (UPM) SPAIN
Siakas Kerstin Thessaloniki Institute of Technology GREECE
Stolfa Jakub VSB Ostrava CZECH REPUBLIC
Stolfa Svatopluk VSB Ostrava CZECH REPUBLIC
Winkler Dietmar University of Technology Vienna AUSTRIA
Yilmaz Murat Çankaya University TURKEY


EuroAsiaSPI² 2018 Industrial Programme Committee


Balstrup Bo InnospeXion ApS DENMARK
Barafort Beatrix Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST) LUXEMBOURG
Breske Eva Bosch Engineering GmbH GERMANY
Daughtrey Taz American Society for Quality USA
Dreves Rainer Continental Corporation GERMANY
Dussa-Zieger Klaudia imbus AG GERMANY
Ekert Damjan ISCN GesmbH (Slovenia) SLOVENIA
Fazal-Baqaie, Masud CQM S&N INVENT GERMANY
Gorner Jenny Knowit SWEDEN
Hallikas Jarmo Falconleader FINLAND
Ito Masao Nil Software Corp. JAPAN
Johansen Jorn Whitebox DENMARK
Karner Christoph KTM Motorsport AUSTRIA
Kemaneci Kerem TSE TURKEY
Larrucea Uriarte Xabier Tecnalia SPAIN
Mac an Airchinnigh Micheal ISCN GesmbH (Ireland) IRELAND
Mashkoor Atif Software Competence Center Hagenberg AUSTRIA
Mayer Nicolas Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST) LUXEMBOURG
Morgenstern Jens - GERMANY
Much Alexander Elektrobit Automotive GmbH GERMANY
Nevalainen Risto Falconleader FINLAND
Poth Alexander Volkswagen AG GERMANY
Renault Samuel Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology LUXEMBOURG
Richard Messnarz ISCN GesmbH (Austria) AUSTRIA
Sasabe Susumu JUSE JAPAN
Sauberer Gabriele TermNet AUSTRIA
Schweigert Tomas SQS GERMANY
Sechser Bernhard Method Park Consulting GmbH GERMANY
Soren Lyngso LYNGSO Informatique Management Consulting LUXEMBOURG
Spork Gunther Magna Powertrain AUSTRIA
Stefanova Pavlova Maria CITT Global BULGARIA
Stephane Jacquemart EfCoCert SWITZERLAND
von Bronk Peter PB BestPractice GERMANY
Wegner Thomas ZF Engineering Plzeň s.r.o. CZECH REPUBLIC
Witzgall Peter GERMANY